Team America Sausage Balls

I had quite a few other ideas in mind to represent America at our Winter Olympic party, but I had to make a last minute change because two of our guest refuse to eat cheese (I KNOW. What is wrong with them?!). Luckily they haven’t yet figured out that sausage balls actually contain cheese. Let’s just keep that our little secret.

America Olympic Dish

These sausage balls are something that I make constantly for football and baseball games. They are delicious whether they are served piping hot or have cooled off some. There are never any leftovers. Luckily, these are also super easy. The key ingredient is to use cream cheese to keep them super moist. I also add a little Tony Chachere’s to add a little spice. I’m sure any Cajun seasoning/BBQ rub would work.

1 lb. sausage (I use regular vs. hot)

8 oz. cream cheese, softened (buy a tub over a brick)

1 ¼ cups Bisquick

4 oz. cheddar cheese, shredded (or more)

1 Tablespoon Tony Chachere’s Cajun seasoning

I put all of these ingredients in my Kitchenaid mixer, using the dough hook attachment, and mix until everything is combined. Once everything looks every throughout, roll into balls about the size of ping-pong balls. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 400F.

There are a lot of times that I will make these the night before for early football games. They work just fine if you freeze the balls ahead of time. I would leave them in the oven a few more minutes than normal.

Leave a Reply

